Not Just A Host By Steph Martin

Standard

I look around myself, 
 I see the woman standing in the door way.
  I see the man at the table.
   He’s slowly sipping his coffee.
    I see the woman getting undresses in an           open
window.
     Her lover comes over and pulls her                     close. 

I feel relaxed.
 I feel happy.
  I feel hot.
   The air is muggy, and thick.
    The tropical heat is relaxing.
     It makes me sleepy.

The woman in the doorway looks up, and laughs.
 The man sips his coffee, it’s too hot. 
  He blows on it to cool it down.
   Someone is sipping from a straw.
    The slurping sound reminds me,
     Of my child hood. 
       Of my childhood at home
        Someone is singing.
         A song about love and life.
          A woman cries out,

“I love the summer!”
 “I love the summer!”
  “I love the summer!”

Everyone chants.
 It slowly fades out.
  The sound of everything sitting at the tables,
   Listening to the music being played.
 
The cello,
 the flute,
  the guitar,
   the triangle,
    the banjo,
     the clarinet.

All of the people, 
 they all look around.

Knowing that summer is,
 slowly being left out.

Left by the children,
 returning to school.
  Left by the workers,
   starting a new.
    Left by the sun,
     and the cloudless days.
      Left by the festivals,
       that fill the day.

And all the while,
 I realize that, 
  no matter the weather,
   no matter the time,
    no matter the season,
     I’ll always be fine.

I love the summer,
 the heat,
  and the food.

I love all the people,
 you see in the world.

I love the passion,
 and all the life.
  That comes with the summer.

Summer, 
 Oh Summer,
  Please don’t go.

Leave a comment